Experiencing Great Restaurants and Delicious Libations

Rockwell Republic – Grand Rapids MI

45 South Division SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49503

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Visited March 27 & 28, 2015

Rockwell (and) Republic are actually two restaurants that share a kitchen, share a menu, and even share staff. Republic feels more like a restaurant with a bar, and Rockwell is more bar with some restaurant seating. The menu I found actually pretty amazing.

My first visit was on the Republic side. I had the kale and beet salad and a perfectly prepared filet with brussels sprouts, mushrooms, bacon, red onion potato hash.

It was delicious, so delicious I went back the next day to dine on the Rockwell side. As luck would have it the same bartender (Grant) was working on that side and again provided the same exceptional service as the night before. Here I tried some of their sushi as an appetizer, and then dove into their sea scallops as my entree. The scallops were accompanied by asiago gnocchi, asparagus, red pepper and citrus cream. It was amazingly good.

Their menu also has sandwiches, soups, pastas, etc. I can only imagine that they are all as good as what I sampled on my 2 visits. Everything about this pair of restaurants I liked. The only problem with them is that they are too far away from me to visit more frequently.

Rockwell Republic is within walking distance of both the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel and the Downtown Courtyard by Marriott.

 

One response

  1. Pingback: Grand Rapids Art Museum – GRAM – (2007) | Traverse360 Architecture

Leave a Reply

